Frugal February: Cheap and Easy DIY Projects

Happy hump day yet again, friends and followers! Another week has sped past us and it is time for another post about a couple DIY projects that we have been working on in order to get ready for Karen’s big move-out day!  Both of the projects below are cheap and easy and can spruce up any apartment as well as any savings account.

Cork “K”
What you will need:
1. Cardboard (I used an old Amazon box”) as large as you would like your letter to be
2. Wine corks (I bought mine on Amazon prime – used about 250 corks)
3. Hot glue gun

Instructions:
1. Draw your letter on the cardboard (you may want to use a stencil or print out a large-fonted letter from the computer and trace)
2. Glue the corks wine side down to fill out the cardboard
3. Voilah! Your cork letter is complete!

Cork K

Side Table
What you will need:
1. 1 2x8x10 board
2. 1 2x4x10 common board
3. Drywall screws
4. Nails

Instructions:
1. Cut the larger board into 3 pieces that will make up the main sections of your table and use the drywall screws to connect them so it looks like a traditional table (we made the legs 2’4” and the top 2’8”)
2. Lay the table on its side and lay one of the thinner common boards so that it is laying diagonally across the table from the top corner to the opposite bottom corner.
3. Trace the bottom of the common board so that you have distinct lines on where the board should be cut so that the angles match up with the sides of the legs.
4. With a mitre saw, cut the common board along the lines that you traced and nail to the legs and corner of the table.
5. We haven’t done this part yet but paint your table the desired color and sand certain areas after the paint has dried to give it a retro vintage look.

Side table

FYI: The West Side Market is back in business! Go help out the vendors and buy some cheap and delicious food to cook up this weekend!

Check back in later this week to hear about some of the cheap fish fry’s in the greater Cleveland area!  The weekend is almost here!

5 responses to “Frugal February: Cheap and Easy DIY Projects

  1. Phaedon

    I like do myself projects! But why would I want to make a K? Whats significanse of the letter though? I have cinder bloc shelfes! you should make those! Where do you residence?

  2. extremecheapsk8r

    Another great read guys! I have question on why you are being so frugal? It sounds like you both have nice jobs. I dream of shopping at the West Side market one day after selling my home made liquor really takes off. But its too expensive for me, since my only current income is my monthly welfare check. I go grocery shopping at Aldis. On Tuesday’s they throw away their “rotting fruit and veggies” I come by their dumpster and pick only the freshest ones. Nothing like water and a knife can’t fix and it is totally free. I have only gotten intestinal parasites twice after five years of “shopping” at Aldis!

    It sounds like you guys like to go out on weekends. I can’t really afford buying beer at the bars so I walk into bars after midnight and grab drinks that people leave after they already went home or to another bar. The best part is I do not have to tip and get some really nice drinks. The same approach works with food when someone leaves leftovers you just grabbing a doggy bag and scoop it up. Good to go. You should should think about these approaches since it saves a lot of money.

    Keep up the great posts. I would have just spray painted the K into the wall though.

    • Phaedon

      Thats what bakerys do! they usual put all the pastry and bagles in a bag before in the dumpster so its just a little stale but not dirty! lol, in Greece my brother and me would get all leftover from Papanikolos bakery after oxi day!

  3. pigmalion

    OMG please let it by March already

  4. The Frugal Fupa

    Hey Guys!

    I’ve been following your blog for the last couple of weeks and I must say I have been inspired by your concept. Until this post. Now I am enraged at the mockery you have made Frugal February. I just cant fathom spending my hard earned pennies on supplies for arts and crafts. I could understand if you already had all of those corks (most alcoholics do) because that would be an example of being frugal. Also another comment I would like to make: where are your cost totals for the month? Are you worried that you haven’t actually been as frugal as you promote? Anywho, I would like to see you guys step your game up this last week, maybe fast for a day or stay home and play boardgames with your children. Ok can’t wait till the next post!

    XOXO,
    The Frugal Fupa

Leave a comment